ZEFRANK.COM - message board

ZEFRANK.COM - message board (http://www.zefrank.com/bulletin_new/index.php)
-   FAST CHAT (http://www.zefrank.com/bulletin_new/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Designers (http://www.zefrank.com/bulletin_new/showthread.php?t=203)

TinaBina 10-01-2002 07:18 PM

Designers

How many of you out there are designers (web, print, etc?)

Just curious!

lapietra 10-02-2002 07:24 PM

learning how to be one...

I've got some websites out there (that I was paid to do!) but nothing to be too proud of yet... I need to learn more programming/coding languages.

PHPGoddess 10-03-2002 12:28 PM

I am, but my concentration is more on programming than design. I'm always looking for designers to subcontract in my business. I do freelancing if you want to check out my site:
Angel Web Solutions Drop me a portfolio anytime!

KelliV 10-04-2002 12:30 PM

Im a designer

started out in print .... have done logos, brochures, annual reports and some illustrations. I now am in the web world, but I sure do miss paper.

TinaBina 10-04-2002 03:41 PM

I'm a print designer too. Sometimes get some web design thrown my way, but my preference is for anything on paper.

red 10-04-2002 08:41 PM

Design

I went to school for it and once I got out into the great big world of advertising quickly realized, I don't like design by committee. Most clients are graphic illiterates. It's not that I can't compromise. It just got too stressful to put up with clients who always want jumbo logos or to fill every last space with copy just because there's room. I've found peace doing production art and creating art just for me, at home, on my own terms.

KelliV 10-07-2002 11:14 AM

Design by committee

Red I feel your pain....
That is the sharp slap of reality that all designers feel once we leave the creative protection of college.

The best remedy is to slowly establish your expertise.... it does take awhile, and to have management that is committed to quality work, not just "get it out there".