ZEFRANK.COM - message board  

Go Back   ZEFRANK.COM - message board > FAST CHAT
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2006, 10:35 PM   #1
Coffee
Cheeses Save
 
Coffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating
Posts: 9,204
Tech Support

comp wizzards HELP!

Anyone know how to boot up from a second harddrive?

My C drive has WinXP home edition installed, and my second E drive, taken from my old computer, has WinME installed, which I'm currently using just for storage...i believe it is set up as a "slave" HD. The reason I need to do this is old Win 98 machine died today which I was using for my Printer station since my RIP software is not supported by XP...sooooo...I'd like to boot up my new comp from the second hardrive and run WinMe to print files for my work. However...when I checked the Setup menu accessed by hitting the f12 key at start up, the E drive did not show up on the list of bootable drives.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Coffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 11:44 PM   #2
Hyakujo's Fox
left hanging
 
Hyakujo's Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: between the click of the light and the start of the dream
Posts: 10,071
Have you tried turning it off and on?

Hyakujo's Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 11:54 PM   #3
rapscalious rob
Have a Gorilla.
 
rapscalious rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: There, everyone likes a Gorilla.
Posts: 178
for future reference, here is a great site for PC computer help.

for Mac users, look here, and go to the "New Mac Users Forum," which really is for anyone with a Mac, not just new users.
__________________
You go skipping and prancing through life, skipping through a field of dandelions. But what you donít see is that on each dandelion is a bee, and on each bee is an ant, and the ant is biting the bee and the bee is biting the flower, and if that shocks you then Iím sorry.

Last edited by rapscalious rob : 11-28-2006 at 11:56 PM.
rapscalious rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 01:46 AM   #4
Odbe
hope dope
 
Odbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: down to earth
Posts: 1,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyakujo's Fox
Have you tried turning it off and on?

Wait, just let me get my slightly larger glasses.
Odbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 01:58 AM   #5
Max Headroom
monkey
 
Max Headroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 20 minutes in the future
Posts: 1,098
I know a little about hardware, not a whole bunch...

I would try flipping the set up so that the opposite drive is set up as the slave. If you look at the back of the drives you will find a set of pins with some small jumpers arranged on them. there should be a description of how to place the jumpers so that the drive is in slave or master mode.

It's my guess that BIOS will look for the master drive and boot from there. since you've switched them, all will be rocking. Worst thing that can happen is that it won't start at all, at which point you switch things back.

Don't open your computer case on a carpeted floor, and make sure to ground yourself against the metal frame before touching any components... A static spark can nuke your hard drive.

Best of luck... I make no guarantees.... but it's what i'd try...

Max
__________________
Art takes something ugly and over time makes it beautiful,

Fashion takes something beautiful and over time makes it ugly.
Max Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.